The awards, presented by principal partner Thomson Reuters, recognised outstanding innovation and entrepreneurship in the Australian financial technology sector.

The awards showcased excellence across 19 categories reflecting fintech specialisations and sub-sectors, chosen from a nomination pool of more than 300. 

“The winners and finalists of the Fintech Business Awards 2018 represent the very best innovation in the burgeoning Australian fintech community,” said Fintech Business managing editor Aleks Vickovich.

“We look forward to working with all of them to continue writing a positive story about the finance sector – one that puts innovation and the consumer at the centre.”

The Fintech Business Excellence Award (Company) was won by online payments firm Afterpay, while home energy-funding platform Brighte co-founder Katherine McConnell took home the Fintech Business Excellence Award (Individual).

The winners of the 2018 Fintech Business Awards are:

Crowdfunding Innovator of the Year 

Lending Innovator of the Year 

Personal Finance Innovator of the Year

Insurance Innovator of the Year 
Cover Genius

Payments Innovator of the Year 
Afterpay Australia

Compliance Innovator of the Year 

Software Innovator of the Year 
BGL Corporate Solutions

Fintech Mentor of the Year 
Peta Tilse, Sophisticated Access

Fintech Entrepreneur of the Year 
Philip Copeland, Avoka

Investment Innovator of the Year 
Acorns Australia

Fintech Thought leader of the Year 
Jonathon Wilkinson, Equitise

Accounting Innovator of the Year 
Class Limited

Financial Advice Innovator of the Year 

Lending Platform Innovator of the Year 

Investment Platform Innovator of the Year 

Femtech Leader of the Year
Katherine McConnell, Brighte

Fintech Start-Up Business of the Year 
Link4 Australia

Fintech Business Excellence Award (Individual) 
Katherine McConnell, Brighte

Fintech Business Excellence Award (Company) 
Afterpay Australia