On 26 May, Fintech Business reported that Treasurer Scott Morrison had appointed former IBM managing director Andrew Stevens to the position of independent chair to the Data Standards Body.

The Data Standards Body will set the technical standards for the Consumer Data Right, which will roll out in the banking sector first with the aim to help consumers and businesses access and transfer data between service providers.

As chair of the Data Standards Body, Mr Stevens is in charge of appointing the Advisory Committee to the Body.

CSIRO announced in a statement that the names of the “initial members” of the Committee had been revealed, “with a strong focus on the banking sector given it is the first sector to implement the Consumer Data Right”.

Alongside Mr Stevens as “interim chair” of the Data Standards Body, MoneyTree chief technical officer Ross Sharrott as well as former FinTech Australia chair Stuart Stoyan will sit on the committee.

The full list of members making up the Advisory Committee to the Body are:

  • Ross Sharrott, Chief Technical Officer, MoneyTree
  • Stuart Stoyan, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, MoneyPlace
  • Andy White, Chief Operating Officer, Australian Payments Network
  • Emma Gray, Chief Data Officer, ANZ
  • Gary Thursby, Group Executive, Strategy & Enterprise Business Services, Westpac
  • John Stanton, Chief Executive Officer, Communications Alliance
  • Kate Crous, General Manager Digital Strategy and Operations, Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • Lauren Solomon, Chief Executive Officer, Consumer Policy Research Centre
  • Lisa Schutz, Managing Director, Verifier
  • Luis Uguina Carrion, Chief Digital Officer, Macquarie Bank
  • Malcolm Webster, Chief Risk Officer, Endeavour Mutual Bank
  • Mark Perry, APAC Chief Technology Officer, Ping Identity
  • Martin Granell, Chief Technology Officer, AGL
  • Patrick Wright, Chief Technology and Operations Officer, NAB
  • Viveka Weiley, Head of New Things, CHOICE
  • Andrew Stevens, Interim Chair of the Data Standards Body

According to the CSIRO statement, the Committee will meet monthly across Melbourne, Sydney and Canberra. The meeting minutes will be published on the website of the Data Standards Body.

Technical working groups will also be established, to be announced over the following weeks.